Blog posts · mummyblog · random · slimming world

Reflections

Reflections….

reflections

This year I’m not setting resolutions, I’m making goals and learning lessons.

I always start off with the best of intentions, a few weeks in and they’re long forgotten and I’m floundering about like a lost kid at sea. So this year I’m focusing on goals rather than resolutions, and I’m looking at the things I learnt last year.

“Don’t Look Back, You’re Not Going That Way”

I used to use this quote a lot on my weight loss journey, but now I think I disagree with it.  How can you learn from the mistakes made, or those things which do or don’t work for you if you don’t take some time to reflect on time and moments passed? Whether they are good or bad, aren’t they pointless if you don’t take something beneficial away from them?

Last year was an odd one. I wasn’t truly happy in work, and in turn that affected my attitude at home and towards my health (see my post about my insta and slimming world break HERE, it goes into more detail.) Rather than trying to forget about the bad times, and hiding away from the memories which upset me, I am reflecting on them and learning what does, and doesn’t, work for me to function properly in life.

The biggest thing I learnt in the last 12 months? My family is my everything. Spending time with them is THE best, most effective way for me to use my time. It makes me happy, and when I’m happy I’m more productive and able to live healthily, because when I’m down mentally, the number on the scales goes up. Then my clothes don’t fit, and I feel crap about myself and I pile on more weight. It’s true what they say about that vicious cycle!

I also learnt that if I need to come away from what I find comfortable and step up on my own, I am more than capable of doing this. Some (okay… more like a lot!) of my lost weight may have found its way back, but the confidence I discovered when I lost weight, I refuse to let go of.

This year I want to learn more, I want to educate myself more on nutrition, I want to do a photography course and I want to improve my writing skills. I’m spending more time focusing on my health (both mental and physical) and encourage The Brat Child to be the best person he is capable of being.

So, here’s to 2018, whatever it brings, whether its good times or bad.

K x

2 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. and this is EXACTLY as your thinking should be Kerry – after all how can you write a history of your life if you do not face it head on? The learning will never cease but it will get easier

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment